If you have the celiac disease, you are surely eating gluten-free food. The first and foremost rule about going gluten-free is to read all the product labels, but you will be surprised to know that many nonfood items surprisingly contains gluten and could worsen the symptoms of celiac disease leading to more digestive problems.

What is Gluten?

You often hear that gluten is bad and wonder, what exactly it is? Just for your knowledge, Gluten is a common protein found in several grains such as wheat, rye, some oats, Spelt, Kamut and more. It has a glue-like consistency which pretty much explains why you can easily roll your processed bread into a soft and gooey ball.

The gluten is known to stick to the inner lining of your intestines and makes it difficult to absorb essential nutrients from the food. It can further lead to various health conditions, constipation and mood swings.

People who avoid this protein often question the product’s validity that is labeled as “gluten-free.” However, there are terms such as ” gluten-free food” and “no gluten ingredients” that do no regulate by FDA labeling rules. It has been suggested that those products are made in facilities shared by different non-gluten manufacturers.

If you struggle with keeping up with a gluten-free meal in your kitchen, there are plenty of gluten-free and Paleo meal delivery options such as SunBasket that delivers customized gluten-free meals across the United States. This review on MBSF about the Sun Basket’s meal delivery will help you get useful information that might help you in improving your overall health.

Non-Food Items Can Have GlutenUsually, most of the food labels show the ingredients containing gluten, but the information about unspecified gluten sources are rarely shared in commodities like toiletries and cosmetics. That’s right! Therefore, here are six surprising sources that contain glue and should be avoided by celiac patients.

1.   Skincare & Beauty Products

There are wide ranges of beauty and skincare products from hand sanitizers to lotion that can contain gluten can prove dangerous for your health.The areas such as hands and lips when exposed to these products can cause potential damage to your gastrointestinal tract. If you suffer from celiac disease, use gluten-free sanitizers before eating.

Similarly, lip balms, gloss, and lipsticks are also very important, and it’s necessary to ensure that you use gluten-free products because your mouth is also the introductory organ for your digestive tract.

Also, the use of gluten based sunscreen can cause skin related issues for those who have celiac disease. That’s right! There are several sunscreens containing ingredients such as wheat, wheat germ oil based Vitamin E. Your sunscreen’s creamy texture is created by emulsifying gluten with other ingredients.

2. Pet Food

When talking about gluten exposure, there’s a potential risk in pet food especially when you serve it to the pet and forget to wash hands afterward. Most of the people aren’t aware of the fact that if someone has the skin condition like dermatitis herpetiformis, gluten in pet food can contaminate to the face, hands, and skin. Majority of the pet foods contain some amount of gluten meal, and therefore you should take the necessary precautions.

3. Orthodontic Retainer

Who would have ever thought about the presence of gluten in something like orthodontic retainers? That should be the most surprising fact about the gluten based product among all. Isn’t it? But to everyone’s surprise, gluten is one of the most common additives found in the many dental products including orthodontic retainers. The retainers contain ethyl methacrylate which is a common compound known to create the polymers in various plastics such as retainers.

Clay set for kids will contain gluten4. Kids’ Play Dough

Another non-food product that surprisingly includes gluten is playing dough. Play dough can be potentially harmful to the kids suffering from celiac, especially those who put every other item in their mouth. Playing dough can stick on the hands and easily transfer to your child’s mouth.

5. Vitamin Supplements

Gluten often works as a binder or glue in many products like vitamin supplements. Due to its easy availability, it is used liberally. The authentic brands are more transparent regarding the use of potential allergens and ingredients, but they can end up costing more whereas the average brands do not disclose the complete information about the ingredients and are readily available. One important thumb rule is to read all the ingredients on the label and also look up for the products that are identified as gluten-free.

6. Medications

Last but not least, the medicines. You read that right. There are plenty of drugs in the market containing gluten. The gluten content in the medication majorly depends on the manufacturers.  Therefore, unless specified that the particular medication is tested for gluten-free, there is also a high possibility that they could be contaminated even if they don’t contain gluten in their ingredients.

Whenever you are buying your prescriptions and have doubt on the ingredient list, check with the pharmacist or contact manufacturers to find out if a product is completely gluten-free or not gluten-free.